July 21, 2012


SCORAI Europe aims to support a community that contributes forward-thinking, innovative research in the area of sustainable consumption, while also bridging academic research with mainstream thinking and policy making. SCORAI Europe cooperates closely with the European Roundtable for Sustainable Consumption and Production (ERSCP) and our sister SCORAI organization in North America, as well as other research networks that are focused on the challenges of addressing the society-environment nexus from a consumption perspective.

To become a member of SCORAI Europe (no membership fee involved, for the time being), please subscribe to the SCORAI Europe listserv. Members will receive information on upcoming activities and be invited to share information relevant to sustainable consumption research and action in the European context with other members. For more information on SCORAI Europe, please contact

Workshops and Conferences

Since its inception, SCORAI Europe has organised and run a number of workshops and conferences with the aim of bringing together practitioners and researchers to enhance understanding and find innovative approaches toward sustainable consumption. For more information please click on the links below.

Vienna (2015)

Leipzig (2014)

Lausanne (2014)

London (2014)

Rotterdam (2013)

Istanbul (2013)

Muenster (2013)

Bregenz (2012)

Steering Committee
  • Julia Backhaus, Maastricht University
  • Frances Fahy, NUI Galway
  • Audley Genus, Kingston University
  • Sylvia Lorek, Sustainable Europe Research Institute
  • Henrike Rau, University of Munich
  • Marlyne Sahakian, University of Lausanne
  • Edina Vadovics, GreenDependent Institute
  • Janis Brizga, NGO Green Liberty & University of Latvia
Founding members
  • Nilgün Ciliz, Bogaziçi University
  • Neil Coles, UNEP/Wuppertal Institute/CSCP
  • Antonietta Di Giulio, University of Basel
  • Doris Fuchs, University of Münster
  • André Martinuzzi, WU Vienna
  • Oksana Mont, Lund University
  • Jaco Quist, TU Delft
  • Inge Røpke, Danish Technical University
  • Lucia Reisch, Copenhagen Business School
  • Willi Sieber, Austrian Institute of Ecology
  • Gerd Scholl, Institute for Ecological Economy Research
  • Ulf Schrader, TU Berlin
  • Martin Schweighofer, Austrian Institute of Ecology
  • John Thøgersen, Aarhus University
  • Arnold Tukker, TNO